19084827215 dea2d84540 c

Governance and Charitable Status

On these pages you can find a range of information about Governance and our Board of Governors at Arts University Plymouth, England’s newest specialist arts University.

We’re proud to play our part in supporting a vibrant creative community of artists, designers and creative practitioners, serving an exciting city that acts as a hub for culture and creative arts in the region.

We volunteer to ensure that Arts University Plymouth gives every student the opportunity to have a fulfilling and enriching experience of Higher Education; our ambition is to enable students to fulfil their creative ambitions during the time they spend with us, for the benefit of their careers, their wellbeing and their success in life beyond University

The Arts University Plymouth Board of Governors are responsible for corporate governance, which includes the leadership, direction and control of our independent arts University, including our obligation to ensure staff and students work in a safe and secure environment. We support the work of the University by providing wider commercial, educational, community and regulatory experience. We work together to improve efficiency and effectiveness by building productive relationships across the University community, to pursue objectives that are in the interests of our community and particularly our students.

We relish opportunities to share in the creative life of the University through visits, shows and graduations, where it is always an inspiration to see the fabulous range of work on display. Governor vacancies arise from time to time and we welcome enquiries from anyone interested in making a contribution to the governance of this very special institution. To get in touch about a Governor vacancy or to contact any of the existing Governors, please email the Clerk to the Board - Liz Wiltshire-Meads at lwmeads@aup.ac.uk.

Dr Sue Brownlow
Chair of Board of Governors

The Board of Governors has a structure of five Committees to undertake strategic business control and monitoring:

  • Finance and Estates Committee

  • Audit Committee

  • Nominations and Governance Committee

  • Employment Committee

  • Remuneration Committee

Within each Committee or Working Group, specialist members (Independent Committee Members) join the Governors to provide professional advice and guidance. The meeting schedule ensures that the Committees and members of the Board are able to deliver their responsibilities and business in a timely manner, and to meet the requirements of external bodies.

The Board of Governors ensure that any public funds received are spent for the intended purposes and that value for money is obtained for students and staff. Risk management is an integral part of every decision made by the governing body. The Audit Committee monitors progress and advises the governing body regarding controls on risk management.

Governors are recruited taking into account equality and the diversity of our Board. In particular, the Nominations and Governance Committee considers an individual's skills and experience, to ensure that these fit with the mission, vision and objectives of Arts University Plymouth. High standards of ethical, personal and corporate conduct are expected from members, in accordance with the Standards in Public Life, commonly referred to as the ‘Nolan’ Principles.

Governors have adopted the Higher Education Code of Governance, covering core values around integrity, sustainability, inclusivity, excellence, innovation and growth, and community. Our Board of Governors adheres to the public interest governance principles, as set out by the Office for Students. Our Governors have adopted the Higher Education Remuneration Senior Staff Code and the Higher Education Audit Committees Code of Practice.

Corporate governance arrangements at Arts University Plymouth set and monitor the organisation’s strategy and objectives. The governing body aim is to give assurance and improve performance within the organisation by strategically focussing on clear and robust systems and control processes.

Legal name: Arts University Plymouth

Correspondence Address: Arts University Plymouth, Tavistock Place, Plymouth, PL4 8AT

Constitutional Documents:

Paul Fieldsand Banks stood in front of a ceramics exhibition Pauls arms are crossed and he is wearing a suit
Vice-Chancellor & Chief Executive, Professor of Fine Art
Sue Brownlow
Chair of Board of Governors
Anna Corbett
Deputy Chair of Board of Governors
Ian Parry PCA Governor Photo copy
Chair of Audit Committee
Dame Janet Ritterman A4
Member of Audit Committee
Mark Greaves
Chair of Finance and Estates Committee, Member of Remuneration Committee and Employment Committees
Andy Honey
Member of Audit Committee
Lan Tunbridge
Member of the Finance & Estates Committee
Rachel Soundy
Member of Audit Committee
Margaret Campbell
Staff Governor and Member of Remuneration Committee and Employment Committees
Tim Gundry
Assistant Dean (Student Experience) & Staff Governor
Beth Evans
Student Union President and Student Governor
Member of the Finance and Estates Committee
Ciara Eastell a member of the Board of Governors at Arts University Plymouth
Member of the Employment Committee